Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Performing arts

(2015 Arts Industry Digital Benchmark Study)

Basé sur un sondage sur le marketing numérique de 130 organismes artistiques américains, ce rapport constate que « les organismes ont investi davantage dans le numérique [en 2015], mais que les défis autour du financement et du savoir-faire ont limité l’efficacité numérique ». Les théâtres ont formé le plus grand groupe de répondants (34 %), suivis des organismes de diffusion (22 %) et des musées (12 %). Les versions précédentes du sondage portaient uniquement sur les organismes des arts du spectacle. Le sondage révèle que 80 % des organismes répondants ont renouvelé leurs sites Web au cours des trois années précédentes et que 51 % des billets des répondants étaient vendus en ligne.

Évaluation des possibilités, des enjeux et des défis

Dans un contexte où « les expériences scéniques médiatisées valaient les spectacles en personne » pour « un nombre important de Canadiens », ce rapport propose une évaluation préliminaire des défis et des possibilités entraînés par l’innovation numérique dans les arts du spectacle (et notamment pour les diffuseurs des arts). Le rapport estime que l’enjeu fondamental des diffuseurs des arts du spectacle porte sur leur capacité de continuer à jouer un rôle en tant qu’intermédiaires entre les artistes et les publics dans un univers entièrement numérique et la façon dont ils le feront.

(Assessing the Audience Impact of Choral Music Concerts)

Basé sur un sondage auprès de plus de 14 000 membres du public de 23 chœurs de chant (le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et 22 chœurs américains), ce rapport examine les expériences du public des concerts de chœurs. Cette étude avait pour but d’encourager « la pensée critique sur la façon dont les publics élaborent des sens et des souvenirs des concerts de chœurs ainsi que les moyens que peuvent utiliser les chœurs pour concevoir soigneusement leurs programmes ».

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

Optique culture no 51

Ce rapport de l’Observatoire de la culture et des communications du Québec renferme des renseignements sur l’assistance aux spectacles de théâtre, de danse, de musique, d’humour, de cirque et de magie en 2015. Il y a eu 17 700 représentations payantes au Québec en 2015 (3 % de plus qu’en 2009), qui ont attiré 6,7 millions de spectateurs (9 % de moins qu’en 2009). Les revenus tirés de la billetterie sont passés de 274 millions de dollars en 2009 à 233 millions en 2015 (-15%).

Étude cartographique de la danse au Canada

Le résultat d’une enquête auprès de 367 compagnies de danse, écoles de formation, diffuseurs et organismes de service, ce rapport « vise à produire de nouvelles connaissances et une compréhension plus nuancée de l’impact social des organismes de danse au Canada ». La définition d’impact social retenue par le rapport comprend « le bien-être physique, affectif et psychologique des individus et des communautés ».

Le rapport bisannuel de Statistique Canada sur les arts de la scène renferme des renseignements au sujet des organismes à but lucratif et non lucratif. Les revenus d’exploitation de tous les groupes d’arts de la scène ont totalisé 1,91 milliard de dollars en 2014. Les revenus des organismes à but non lucratif ont totalisé 832 millions en 2014.

(Culture for Competitiveness: How Vibrant Culture Attracts Top Talent)

Ce rapport examine la perception de l’attractivité des arts et des collectivités en se fondant sur des enquêtes auprès de 500 travailleurs professionnels situés en Ontario et de 508 entreprises ontariennes comptant plus de 20 employés. Du côté des travailleurs professionnels, 65 % des répondants conviennent qu’un « milieu culturel dynamique des arts fait partie de ce que je recherche lorsque je déménage dans une nouvelle collectivité » (31 % sont d’accord et 34 %, assez d’accord). On est du même avis du côté des entreprises, puisque 64 % d’entre elles estiment qu’un « milieu culturel dynamique des arts est quelque chose qui attire (ou qui pourrait attirer) des talents dans la collectivité » (35 % sont d’accord et 29 %, assez d’accord).

(Reimagining the Orchestra Subscription Model)

Basé sur un sondage de plus de 4 000 amateurs d’orchestres et « le plus vaste ensemble de données sur les ventes » de 44 orchestres américains et un canadien (l’Orchestre du Centre national des arts), ce rapport examine « pourquoi les gens s’abonnent, pourquoi ils ne renouvellent pas, et ce qu’ils peuvent vouloir qui n’est pas actuellement offert » dans les forfaits d’abonnement des orchestres.

(The Economic & Cultural Value of Live Music in Australia in 2014)

En utilisant une analyse coût/bénéfice (basé sur un sondage national des consommateurs ainsi que sur des entrevues avec des propriétaires et des exploitants de salles de spectacles), ce rapport tente d’établir « la valeur de l’apport économique, social et culturel » des spectacles de musique en Australie. La principale conclusion de ce rapport est que, « pour chaque dollar dépensé pour des spectacles de musique en Australie, il y a trois dollars de retombées dans l’ensemble de la communauté australienne ».

Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Performing arts

Based on a “national mapping of the publicly available programs of 135 mainstream presenters across Australia” in 2015 as well as a custom survey of 44 presenters and interviews with 40 performing arts producers and presenters, this report outlines “the level and types of First Nations performing arts programming in Australia’s mainstream venues and festivals; the presenting of works to audiences; and the motivations and obstacles for presenters and producers”. The key finding of the mapping exercise is that “First Nations performing arts are under-represented in Australia’s mainstream venues and festivals”, comprising only 2% of the nearly 6,000 works that were programmed in 2015.

Based on a survey of digital marketing in 130 American arts organizations, this report indicates that “organizations invested more in digital [in 2015], but challenges around funding and expertise limited digital effectiveness”. Theatres were the largest group of respondents (34%), followed by presenting organizations (22%) and museums (12%). Previous iterations of the survey covered performing arts organizations only. The survey found that 80% of responding organizations had redesigned their website within the past three years and that 51% of respondents’ tickets were sold online.

An Assessment of Opportunities, Issues and Challenges

In a context where “a sizeable group of Canadians” have “identified mediated performance experiences as equal to attending live performances in person”, this report provides an initial assessment of challenges and opportunities related to digital innovation in the performing arts (and for arts presenters in particular). The report indicates that a key question for performing arts presenters is whether and how they will be able to continue to play a role as intermediaries between artists and audiences in a fully digital realm.

Based on a survey of over 14,000 attendees at performances by 23 choirs (including the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir and 22 American choruses), this report examines the experiences of audiences at live choral concerts. The goal of the research was to spur “critical reflection on how audiences construct meaning and memory from concerts of choral music, and how choruses can curate impacts through thoughtful program design”.

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

(La fréquentation des arts de la scène au Québec en 2015, Optique culture no 51)

This Quebec report provides information about attendance at theatre, dance, music, comedy, circus, and magic performances in 2015. There were 17,700 performances with an admission fee in Quebec in 2015 (a 3% increase from 2009), which attracted 6.7 million attendees (a 9% decrease from 2009). Box office revenues decreased from $274 million in 2009 to $233 million in 2015 (-15%).

Canada Dance Mapping Study

Based on a survey of 367 dance companies, training schools, presenters, and service organizations, this report “aims to provide new knowledge and a more nuanced understanding of the social impact of dance organizations in Canada”. The report defines social impact to include “the physical, emotional, and psychological well-being of individuals and communities”.

Statistics Canada's biennial performing arts data provide information about not-for-profit and for-profit organizations in Canada. Operating revenues were $1.91 billion for all performing arts groups in 2014. Not-for-profit performing organizations had $832 million in total revenues in 2014.

This report examines perceptions of the arts and community attractiveness based on surveys of 500 Ontario-based skilled workers and 508 Ontario-based businesses with more than 20 employees. Among skilled workers, 65% of survey respondents were in agreement that “a thriving arts cultural scene is something I would look for when considering moving to a new community” (31% agree + 34% somewhat agree). Similarly, 64% of businesses agreed that “a thriving arts cultural scene is something that makes it (would make it) easier to attract to talent to the community” (35% agree + 29% somewhat agree).

Based on a survey of over 4,000 orchestra attendees and “the largest ever orchestra sales dataset” from 44 American orchestras and one Canadian one (the National Arts Centre Orchestra), this report examines “why people subscribe, why they lapse, and what they might want that is not currently being offered” in current orchestra subscription packages.