Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Health benefits of the arts

Basé sur un sondage auprès de plus de 2 000 Canadiens (comprenant des échantillons importants de jeunes et d’autochtones), ce rapport présente des données sur la fréquentation des activités liées aux arts et au patrimoine; la participation personnelle aux arts; et les perceptions des activités culturelles et du soutien public des arts. Le rapport conclut qu’il existe « un engagement public élevé envers les arts et la culture au Canada ».

(Everything We Know About Whether and How the Arts Improve Lives)

Cet article, un dossier ouvert d’un groupe de recherche américain sur la culture, évalue et résume les preuves des bienfaits des arts chez les personnes. Les chercheurs examinent quatre aspects des données probantes des études : la santé physique et mentale, l’apprentissage et le développement personnel, la vitalité économique et la cohésion sociale. Tout en reconnaissant que les études actuelles ne sont pas définitives, les chercheurs concluent que « la participation aux arts améliore réellement les vies ».

(Cultural Value Project)

Ce rapport résume les conclusions de 70 études de recherche commandées sur la valeur de la culture au Royaume-Uni – « sur les différences que l’engagement envers les arts fait dans la vie des gens, dans notre société et dans notre économie ». En prenant comme point de départ le vécu individuel de la culture, le rapport propose un aperçu des nombreuses composantes de la valeur de la culture.

Une étude pour quantifier la relation entre la participation récréative aux arts et le bien-être mental dans la population générale (The art of being mentally healthy)

En se fondant sur une enquête auprès de 702 adultes d’Australie-Occidentale, cet article démontre que les gens qui ont un engagement marqué envers les arts (c’est-à-dire, qui leur consacrent au moins 100 heures par année) affirment avoir une meilleure santé mentale que les gens qui ont des activités artistiques moins souvent ou qui n’en ont pas, même après que l’on tienne compte des autres facteurs potentiels de la santé mentale.

Vue d’ensemble des recherches actuelles en neuroscience (The Benefits of Music Education)

Ce document propose un résumé pratique des recherches récentes en neuroscience sur les effets de la musique sur la santé mentale et le bien-être. Il affirme que « les neuroscientifiques démontrent qu’il y a une relation causale entre l’étude de la musique et le développement intellectuel ».

(The neurochemistry of music)

Passant en revue 400 rapports de recherche portant sur les effets neurochimiques de la musique, cet article indique qu’il a des preuves « prometteuses bien que préliminaires » que la musique a des effets positifs sur « (i) les récompenses, la motivation et le plaisir; (ii) le stress et l’éveil; (iii) l’immunité; et (iv) l’affiliation sociale ».

(Exploring the Longitudinal Relationship Between Arts Engagement and Health)

Cet article propose un examen détaillé de quinze rapports sur « l’effet de la participation aux arts – en tant que membre du public ou praticien – sur la santé physique et psychologique au fil des années » et conclut que « l’on constate en général que la participation aux arts a un effet positif sur la physiologie humaine, ce qui améliore la santé et la qualité de vie ».

Présentation parrainée par Arts Health Network Canada et CH-NET Works! (un projet du Réseau canadien sur les ressources humaines en santé à l’Université d’Ottawa)

This presentation muses as to whether the arts could be a part of a “prescription for health”, in addition to a healthy diet, physical activity, proper health care, and good sleeping habits. The presentation provides a brief review of studies of arts engagement and well-being, and delves into the findings from the 2013 study The Arts and Individual Well-being in Canada.

Ce rapport succinct souligne le fait que les pratiques culturelles sont importantes pour « le mieux-être, la santé et la guérison des peuples et des collectivités autochtones ». Le rapport indique que les arts peuvent avoir une importance particulière pour les peuples autochtones de plusieurs autres façons.

(Understanding the Value and Impacts of Cultural Experiences: A Literature Review)

Cette analyse anglaise « d’études rigoureusement scientifiques et de documents de politique influents au cours des vingt dernières années » examine deux courants de recherche au sujet de la valeur et des effets des expériences culturelles : « 1) les avantages que les individus retirent de la fréquentation des activités et programmes culturels et de leur participation à ceux-ci; et 2) les capacités créatrices des organismes artistiques et culturels de présenter des programmes saisissants ». Le rapport conclut que « bien que les expériences individuelles soient les éléments de base d’un système de valeurs, les études conviennent que l’impact cumulatif – les effets d’une vie complète de participation aux arts et à la culture – est le vecteur de résultats sociaux plus vastes ».

Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Health benefits of the arts

Based on a survey of more than 2,000 Canadians (including substantial samples of youth and Indigenous residents), this report highlights information about arts and heritage attendance, personal arts participation, as well as perceptions of cultural activities and government arts support. The report concludes that there is “robust public engagement with arts and culture in Canada”.

This review article, a work in progress from an American cultural research group, evaluates and summarizes evidence regarding the benefits of the arts for individuals. The researchers examine research evidence in four categories: physical and mental health; education and personal development; economic vitality; and social cohesion. While the researchers recognize that existing research is not definitive, they do conclude that “arts participation really does improve lives”.

This report summarizes the findings of 70 specially-commissioned research studies regarding the value of culture in the United Kingdom – “the difference to individuals, society and the economy that engagement with arts and culture makes”. Working outwards from the individual experience of culture, the report outlines many components of cultural value.

A study to quantify the relationship between recreational arts engagement and mental well-being in the general population

Based on a survey of 702 adults in Western Australia, this article shows that people who had high arts engagement (i.e., at least 100 hours per year) reported better mental health than people who participated less frequently or not at all, even after adjusting for other potential factors in mental health.

An Overview of Current Neuroscience Research

This document provides a useful summary of recent neuroscience research on the impacts of music on mental health and well-being. The report indicates that “neuroscientists are demonstrating that there is a causal connection between music study and cognitive growth”.

Reviewing 400 research reports related to the neurochemistry of music, this article indicates that there is “promising, yet preliminary” evidence that music has positive effects on “(i) reward, motivation, and pleasure; (ii) stress and arousal; (iii) immunity; and (iv) social affiliation”.

Fifteen reports on “how engagement in the arts – as an audience member and/or practitioner – affects our physical and psychological health over time” are examined in this detailed review article, which concludes that “engagement in the arts is generally shown to have a positive impact upon the body’s physiology, in turn improving health and quality of life”.

Presentation hosted by Arts Health Network Canada and CH-NET Works! (a project of the Canadian Health Human Resources Network at the University of Ottawa)

This presentation muses as to whether the arts could be a part of a “prescription for health”, in addition to a healthy diet, physical activity, proper health care, and good sleeping habits. The presentation provides a brief review of studies of arts engagement and well-being, and delves into the findings from the 2013 study The Arts and Individual Well-being in Canada.

This brief report highlights the fact that cultural practices are important for “the wellness, health, and healing of Aboriginal peoples and communities”. The report indicates that the arts may have particular importance for Aboriginal Peoples in many ways.

This English review of “academically-robust research and influential policy papers from the past twenty years” examines two streams of research about the value and impact of cultural experiences: “1) how individuals benefit from attending and participating in cultural programmes and activities; and 2) the creative capacities of arts and cultural organisations to bring forth impactful programmes”. The report concludes that “while individual experiences are the building blocks of the value system, the literature agrees that cumulative impacts – the effects of a lifetime of involvement in arts and culture – are the fuel for larger societal outcomes”.