Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Arts education

(Americans Speak Out About the Arts)

Fondé sur un sondage en ligne auprès de 3 020 adultes américains en décembre 2015, ce rapport résume les réponses à une série de questions au sujet de l’intérêt pour les arts, l’éducation artistique, le financement public et les avantages pour les particuliers et les collectivités.

Rapport sommaire (Public Opinion on the Value of Books in the English Language Book Sector)

Le fruit de cinq pistes de recherche (deux sondages en ligne, deux séries de groupes de discussion et des interviews avec des personnes-ressources clés), ce rapport résume « les attitudes actuelles des Canadiens anglophones à l’égard de la valeur culturelle et économique des ouvrages imprimés ». De nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes anglophones consacrent une bonne partie de leurs heures de loisir à la lecture : 80 % d’entre eux passent de cinq à huit heures par semaine à lire, « ce qui correspond à environ un quart de toutes leurs heures de loisir ». La moitié des répondants affirment lire des ouvrages sur support numérique. Un acheteur moyen dépense environ 300 $ par année pour des livres, ce qui correspond à 250 $ par année par adulte anglophone au Canada, ce qui comprend ceux qui n’ont pas acheté de livres au cours de l’année précédente.

Ce rapport présente les résultats d’un sondage téléphonique aléatoire auprès de 1 004 résidents de l’Ontario de 18 ans et plus réalisé au début de mars 2017. Sa marge d’erreur est de plus ou moins 3,1 points de pourcentage, 19 fois sur 20. Les personnes interrogées devaient répondre à une série de questions au sujet de leur perception des arts en Ontario, et notamment à des questions portant expressément sur la qualité de vie, le bien-être, l’identité, l’appartenance et le financement public des arts. Une vaste majorité d’Ontariens et d’Ontariennes estiment que les arts sont assez ou très importants dans leur vie (85 %) et dans celle de leur collectivité (90 %).

(Everything We Know About Whether and How the Arts Improve Lives)

Cet article, un dossier ouvert d’un groupe de recherche américain sur la culture, évalue et résume les preuves des bienfaits des arts chez les personnes. Les chercheurs examinent quatre aspects des données probantes des études : la santé physique et mentale, l’apprentissage et le développement personnel, la vitalité économique et la cohésion sociale. Tout en reconnaissant que les études actuelles ne sont pas définitives, les chercheurs concluent que « la participation aux arts améliore réellement les vies ».

(ImagineNation: the value of cultural learning)

Résumant les études secondaires sur la valeur des arts et de l’éducation artistique, ce rapport du Royaume-Uni constate que « les arts et la culture sont un élément essentiel et positif de notre existence ». Un deuxième rapport (Key Research Findings : The Case for Cultural Learning) renferme des renseignements au sujet des études citées dans ImagineNation.

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

Cette série de projets porte sur trois grandes initiatives de recherche : 1) une comparaison financière de 19 organismes artistiques, culturels et patrimoniaux de la Colombie-Britannique avec 38 organismes « pairs » dans d’autres provinces; 2) une analyse d’une enquête provinciale auprès des organismes artistiques, culturels et patrimoniaux; et 3) un résumé de 14 entrevues qualitatives « portant sur les ressources humaines, l’engagement communautaire et ses effets, la diversité, la nature entrepreneuriale des organismes artistiques de la Colombie-Britannique, et la nature de la réussite chez différents groupes ».

(Building the Future of Education: Museums and the Learning Ecosystem)

Ce rapport américain présente les résultats d’une « convocation » d’environ 50 professionnels des milieux des musées, de l’éducation, des bailleurs de fonds et des spécialistes des politiques. Son but était de lancer « un dialogue national sur l’avenir de l’éducation et les façons dont les chefs de file des milieux de l’éducation et des musées peuvent se concerter pour intégrer les actifs éducatifs du pays en un réseau d’apprentissage dynamique ».

(Ontario’s Museums: 2014 Profile)

Ce profil général de 184 musées de l’Ontario « décrit les réalités du fonctionnement des musées en Ontario aujourd’hui » et fournit « des preuves convaincantes pour démontrer l’effet des musées et leur apport économique, social et culturel dans les collectivités de l’Ontario ». Les 184 musées ont répondu à un sondage conçu et réalisé par l’Association des musées de l’Ontario (AMO) en 2014-2015. Les résultats du sondage ont été analysés par Hill Stratégies.

Une analyse des antécédents scolaires des artistes actifs et des activités des diplômés des programmes d’art sur le marché du travail au Canada

Fondé sur les données de l’Enquête nationale auprès des diplômés de 2013 et de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages de 2011, ce rapport examine la situation sur le marché du travail des diplômés des arts ainsi que la formation postsecondaire des artistes au Canada.

Arts Research Monitor articles, category = Arts education

An In-Depth Look at Perceptions and Attitudes about the Arts in America

Based on an online survey of 3,020 American adults in December 2015, this report summarizes responses to a series of questions about arts engagement, education, government funding, and the benefits to individuals and communities.

Summary Report

Based on five research streams (two online public surveys, two sets of focus groups, and key informant interviews), this report summarizes the “current attitudes of English-speaking Canadians about the cultural and economic value of written work”. Many English Canadians spend a significant proportion of their leisure time reading: 80% spend about five to eight hours reading each week, “representing about one-quarter of their overall leisure time”. One-half of respondents indicated that they read books in digital formats. Spending on books is about $300 per purchaser per year, or $250 yearly for each English-Canadian adult, including those who did not buy books during the past year.

This report presents the results of a random telephone survey of 1,004 Ontario residents (18 and older) in early March 2017, bearing a margin of error of plus or minus 3.1 percentage points, 19 times out of 20. Respondents were asked a series of questions about their perceptions of the arts in Ontario, with specific questions regarding the quality of life, well-being, identity, belonging, and public arts funding. A vast majority of Ontarians believe that the arts are somewhat or very important to their own lives (85%) and to life in their community (90%).

This review article, a work in progress from an American cultural research group, evaluates and summarizes evidence regarding the benefits of the arts for individuals. The researchers examine research evidence in four categories: physical and mental health; education and personal development; economic vitality; and social cohesion. While the researchers recognize that existing research is not definitive, they do conclude that “arts participation really does improve lives”.

Summarizing secondary research into the value of the arts and arts education, this report from the United Kingdom finds that “arts and culture are a life-enhancing and essential part of our existence". An accompanying report (Key Research Findings: The Case for Cultural Learning) provides further details about the research highlighted in ImagineNation.

Based on a literature review, existing statistics, two focus groups, and a targeted survey of 30 stakeholders, this report examines “the patterns of attendance and cultural participation by young people in the theatre for young audiences (TYA) and the children’s festival sector in Canada”.

This series of research projects included three primary research endeavours: 1) a comparison of the finances of 19 B.C. arts, culture, and heritage organizations with 38 “peer” organizations in other provinces; 2) analysis of a province-wide survey of arts, culture, and heritage organizations; and 3) a summary of 14 qualitative interviews “related to human resources, community engagement and impacts, diversity, the entrepreneurial nature of B.C. arts organizations, and the nature of success for different groups”.

This American report highlights findings from a “convening” of about 50 museum and education practitioners, funders, and policy experts, which had the goal of launching “a national dialogue about the future of education and how leaders from the worlds of education and museums can work together to integrate the nation’s educational assets into a vibrant learning grid”. A “vibrant learning grid” would be “a flexible and radically personalized learning ecosystem that meets the needs of all learners”.

This aggregate profile of 184 Ontario museums “identifies the realities of operating museums in Ontario today” and provides “compelling evidence to demonstrate museum impacts and their economic, social and cultural contributions to Ontario’s communities”. The 184 Ontario museums responded to a survey designed and conducted by the Ontario Museum Association (OMA) in 2014-2015, and the survey results were analyzed by Hill Strategies Research Inc.

An analysis of the educational backgrounds of working artists and the labour market activities of arts program graduates in Canada

Based on the 2013 National Graduates Survey and the 2011 National Household Survey, this report examines the labour force situation of arts graduates and the post-secondary education of artists in Canada.