Autres publications

Ce volet de notre site propose de l’information sur certaines études sur mesure commandées à Hill Stratégies, y compris des liens à des renseignements additionnels ou au texte complet des rapports. Nos clients comprennent des organismes artistiques, des associations et partenariats artistiques, des conseils des arts, des municipalités et des ministères.

16 février 2017

Trois grandes pistes de recherche ont contribué à un projet de mesure de l’impact des arts réalisé pour le Conseil des arts Wood Buffalo en 2015 et 2016 :

  1. Un sondage en ligne auprès des milieux artistiques de Fort McMurray et des environs.
  2. Un sondage téléphonique représentatif de tous les résidents locaux.
  3. Une recherche qualitative au sujet de l’importance des arts dans la résilience communautaire (à la suite des feux de forêt de mai 2016).
17 février 2016

De nouveaux renseignements et points de repère sur l’état des arts et de la culture en Colombie-Britannique ont été rendus publics aujourd’hui par la Alliance for Arts and Culture. Une série innovatrice de quatre projets de recherche ont été entrepris pour le compte de l’Alliance par Hill Stratégies Recherche. Trois de ces quatre courants de recherche ont été financés par la Vancouver Foundation.

28 mai 2014

Les données de base sur les artistes servent à de nombreuses fins, notamment en tant que données probantes pour l’analyse des politiques et des tendances, aux comparaisons des résultats selon un modèle de référence, à l’analyse d’enjeux particuliers tels que l’équité régionale ou culturelle, et à l’évaluation des effets à long terme du financement des arts. Ce rapport technique évalue la fiabilité et l’utilité des sources de données possibles sur la vie professionnelle des artistes, y compris un examen approfondi de l’Enquête nationale auprès des ménages (ENM) et de l’Enquête sur la population active (EPA).

6 novembre 2013

Ce rapport résume un processus de recherche récent sur les investissements culturels indirects de cinq grandes villes canadiennes : Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Ottawa et Montréal. Le rapport, en anglais seulement, est basé sur un sondage auprès des membres du personnel culturel de ces cinq villes ainsi que sur des interviews de suivi.

10 septembre 2012

Ce rapport et deux présentations ont été préparés par Kelly Hill à partir de données soumises par 50 membres d'Orchestres Canada. Ces ressources examinent davantage l'évolution de la situation des orchestres canadiens que leur état financier actuel.

Other Publications

This portion of our site provides more information about some custom research projects that have been commissioned from Hill Strategies Research, including links to additional information or full reports. Our clients have included arts organizations, arts associations and partnerships, arts councils, municipalities, and government departments.

16 February 2017

Three major research streams contributed to the Arts Impact Measurement Project, conducted for Arts Council Wood Buffalo in 2015 and 2016:

  1. An online survey of the arts community in and around Fort McMurray
  2. A telephone survey, representative of all local residents
  3. Qualitative research into the importance of the arts in community resilience (following the wildfire in May 2016)

Further information and links to the project reports and graphic summaries can be found here.

17 February 2016

Significant new information and insights into the situation of the arts and culture in British Columbia were made available today by the Alliance for Arts and Culture. A ground breaking series of four arts research projects was conducted for the Alliance by Hill Strategies Research. Three of the four research streams were funded by the Vancouver Foundation.

28 May 2014

Baseline data on artists are used for multiple purposes, including as evidence for policy analysis, trend analysis, benchmarking in reporting on outcomes, analysis of particular issues such as regional or cultural equity, and the assessment of long-term impacts of arts funding. This report assesses the reliability and usefulness of potential data sources on the working lives of artists, including a close examination of the National Household Survey (NHS) and the Labour Force Survey (LFS).

6 November 2013

This report summarizes a recent research process into the indirect cultural investments in five large Canadian cities: Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Ottawa, and Montréal. The report is based on a survey of cultural staff members in the five cities as well as follow-up interviews. The following nine elements were considered for inclusion as indirect cultural investments:

  1. Below-market or nominal rent
  2. Property tax rebates / exemptions (whether through local decision-making or provincial statutes)
  3. Free or below-market rates for advertising on city structures (e.g., bus shelters, buildings, etc.)
  4. In-kind services for festivals, special events, film, etc. (e.g., permits, fire, police, EMS, waste management, transit, etc.)
  5. Heritage conservation incentives (indirect / non-monetary)
  6. Density bonusing (i.e., allowing higher building density in return for community benefits)
  7. Community use agreements / public use of private spaces (e.g., a re-zoning condition allowing for cultural use of private space at a nominal rent)
  8. Modified planning regulations to support cultural sector (with no direct financial implications)
  9. Loan or line-of-credit guarantees by the city
10 September 2012

This report and two presentations were prepared by Kelly Hill using data submitted by 50 members of Orchestras Canada. The resources focus on the changes in the situation of Canadian orchestras more than the current financial state of orchestras.